30 Day Book Meme – Day 18

Day 01 – The best book you read last year
Day 02 – A book that you’ve read more than three times
Day 03 – Your favorite series
Day 04 – Favorite book of your favorite series
Day 05 – A book that makes you happy                                                                                          Day 06 – A book that makes you sad                                                                                                 Day 07 – Most underrated book                                                                                                        Day 08 – Most overrated book                                                                                                            Day 09 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving                                                                                                                                                      Day 10 – Favorite classic book                                                                                                            Day 11 – A book you hated                                                                                                                     Day 12 – A book you used to love but don’t anymore                                                                     Day 13 – Your favorite writer                                                                                                                 Day 14 – Favorite book of your favorite writer                                                                                 Day 15 – Favorite male character                                                                                                         Day 16 – Favorite female character                                                                                                    Day 17 – Favorite quote from your favorite book                                                                            Day 18 – A book that disappointed you Our Kind of Traitor by John LeCarré. I loved his The Constant Gardener because it’s one of those books that clearly change your life. So, I thought his other works would be the same. I was wrong. I was so in love with Our Kind of Traitor (great cover, amazing previous experience with the author, a gift from mom and dad) and then, it was nothing like I expected. You can read a short description here, but, to put it simply, it was a well-researched work on spies, with a slow narration, a plain style and only an interesting female character. I expected something more humane, something like The Constant Gardener and with such an incredible female character as Tessa Quayle but I found something boring and, although now that I’m writing this I realize there is something humane in Our Kind of Traitor too, it was not the same. John LeCarré will never be the same for me.

5 thoughts on “30 Day Book Meme – Day 18

  1. Oh…it’s really sad that one work by an author can spoils reading his/her other works for you. When I read a fan-sequel by an author I greatly respected and found she had written utter rubbish, I felt miserable, and then I convinced myself she was old enough to be labelled senile by the time she wrote that awful book! I hope you have the courage to read another LeCarre and find that Our Kind of Traitor was just a sort of bad hair-day thing of his.

    Btw, I’ve been reading your previous meme posts. It’s been a long time since I’ve read detective fiction (save Chesterton’s Father Brown). I’m thinking it’s time to read some Holmes. Which book is it in which this strong female you admire comes?

  2. I’ve only read one Le Carré, The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, which was a 100% Cold War spy novel. When I saw your love for The Constant Gardener, I was a little surprised that you called it “life changing” at first, because I had thought that all his novels were spy novels. (I should have known better, having seen the trailers for the movie version. And I still need to read it too, someday…) It’s too bad that your experience with him on the second go ’round was so disappointing, because it can be so wonderful when we find a favorite author we can reliably return to.

    • Hi, Amanda! Well, The Constant Gardener was life chaning for me, maybe it won’t be for other people (but I hope it is). It is a “spy” novel but it there is something more behind itthan just treason and assassinations.

      I don’t have any author to rely on apart from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and since he is dead… I can’t wait for his next release (I’ve always wanted to wait outside a bookshop!!)

Leave a Reply

