My first blogging event!

I must admit I am not a fan of reading challenges or read-alongs. I like to read whenever I want and whatever I want. But, I found this event and it just felt perfect! There is no reading-list and no impositions, just two months devoted to reading one of my favourite periods and works: Victorian literature.

The event, A Victorian Celebration, is hosted by A Literary Odyssey and, if you inscribe before 1st May you can win one of the Penguin Clothbound Editions from the following selection:

  • Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
  • A Christmas Carol and Other Christmas Writings by Charles Dickens
  • Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  • Hard Times by Charles Dickens
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  • The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
  • Middlemarch by George Eliot
  • Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  • Tess of D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

This is just perfect timing! By June I hope to have sit all my exams and I’ll be able to celebrate with some reading of my choice, without deadlines and without spending 10 hours at school. How great is that?

I hope some of you join, too!

4 thoughts on “My first blogging event!

  1. Oh, great, your first event! I love blogging events like the recent Bloggiesta because they inspire me to work on my blog. However, at reading challenges and readalongs I suck. I neber read what I had planned, but other things instead. Which is good on the one hand, but on the other I fail at the challenge.

    • I don’t usually have time to read every day and, I cannot plan my reading either.

      The bloggiesta sounded great but it was already ON when I discovered it. Maybe next time?

  2. I’ve been terrible at reading events lately, but this is one I’m planning on participating in. It will hopefully help me to get some of my planned Victorian reads for the year finished, instead of languishing in a “I meant to” manner.

    • Well, this is a kind of free one: if you read one novel it’s OK and if you read two every week, it’s OK too. That is what firstly attracted me :)

Tell us what you think?

