Reading list for A Victorian Celebration

Four weeks before finishing my senior year, events like A Victorian Celebration and the thought of reading the whole summer are the only things that keep me going. So, thinking of the books I can read, I realized that most authors are English and, being especially interested in Scottish and Irish literature, I thought, why not add them? There must be great Irish and Scottish Victorian writers out there and I can’t wait to read their works. Although Ireland was still part of the UK in the ninteenth century, life was very different for them and I’m sure that’s reflected in literature.

I’ll update this post as I discover new authors and works and add them to my TBR list:

IRISH

  • Uncle Sillas – Joseph Sheridan LeFanu

SCOTTISH

  • Treasure Island - Robert Louis Stevenson
  • The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde – Robert Louis Stevenson

ENGLISH

  • Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  • Agnes Grey – Anne Brontë
  • The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins
  • Middlemarch – George Elliot

This post will remain in the front page until the Victorian Celebration arrives. Please, feel free to comment and suggest as many other Victorian authors as you want :)

12 thoughts on “Reading list for A Victorian Celebration

  1. I love the Bronte sisters. I’ve only really read Charlotte but I have Wuthering Heights in my piles and look forward to reading it as soon as I have some free time.

    • Wuthering Heights is perfect for Christmas, at least it was so for me. Anyways, a Winter read, without a doubt. I don’t adivse you to read it during the summer.

  2. Jane Austen is not Victorian — she’s Romantic, writing about two decades before Romanticism.

    Wilkie Collins is a favorite for me! I love Woman in White best of all, although Moonstone is good too.

  3. I love Collins! I’m kind of surprised you don’t have any Gaskell on your list, as I know you enjoyed Cranford–which is on my own list for this summer!

Leave a Reply

