New book sighting!

The less time I have, the more books I want to read! Just two days before returning to school for my final, senior term, I found this jewel in my bookshop. And it has to be mine! As the summer approaches, I usually find myself flooded with very tempting books, especially crime books. But, after giving it some thought, either the book market publishes more during the summer (people have more time to read) or I am just in a huge need for reading. Here is an update for my TBR summer list:

Unwanted by Kristina Ohlsson

After reading and falling in love with The Dinosaur Feather, I have a soft spot for female, Scandinavian writers. Don’t get me wrong, I do not like all of them, in fact, some of these new Scandinavian crime novels are too much for me, but this one seems perfect. And, even for books, I’m superficial enough to love the cover and let it play a key role in my choice: I have something for red shoes after some Wizard of Oz-obsessive years during my childhood.

Summary from the Book Depository:

“One mistake changes everything…”In the middle of a rainy Swedish summer, a little girl is abducted from a crowded train. Despite hundreds of potential witnesses, no one noticed when the girl was taken. Her distraught mother was left behind at the previous station in what seemed to be a coincidence. The train crew was alerted and kept a watchful eye on the sleeping child. But when the train pulled into Stockholm Central Station, the little girl had vanished. Inspector Alex Recht and his special team of federal investigators, assisted by the investigative analyst Fredrika Bergman, are assigned to what at first appears to be a classic custody fight. But when the child is found dead in the far north of Sweden with the word “unwanted” scribbled on her forehead, the case soon turns into the investigation team’s worst nightmare–the pursuit of a brilliant and ruthless killer.

I think this book will make it to my top-priority reading books as soon as I get, that is, as soon as possible!

Also, I’d like to wish you all a happy Easter! Eat lots of chocolate bunnies and sweets and enjoy a good book :)

4 thoughts on “New book sighting!

  1. I agree, it sounds interesting, but nothing for me. I don’t like children in books, and dead children are a total no go for me. I am not too keen on contemporary mystery anyway, so as soon as I read “abducted girl” I went “Not for me”. But I will be reading your review with interest nevertheless.

    • I agree the topic is not everyone. From my perspective, I can only say that lately crime novels mean an exploration of certain human behaviour that I don’t really understand. It is more like a case story, something I’m curious about, but obviously, something I do not enjoy reading for the sake of it, the less abducted children, the better.

Leave a Reply

