May Book Sightings

Well, well, it’s only one final exam until senior year is over and I am more than happy: all the exams went extremely well, thanks everyone for your encouragement and wishing me good, it means a lot. But the most important thing is that I’ll enjoy a summer full of reading of my choice! I joined A Victorian Celebration although I haven’t bought any of the books I wished to read… yet. I am also planning on reading lots of detective/crime fiction.

I already bought The Ice Princess by Camila L√§ckberg. Everyone loves her series and, I don’t know if I will too, but the first installment looks great, there is a writer and there is a crime. so, I’m in!

Kate Atkinson is one of my favourite writers ever and her Jackson Brodie series are amazing. The problem? I am reading then backwards: started on the third book, then the second and now I’m going back to the origins, to Case Histories. This is one of my most anticipated readings for this summer.

I discovered I am not a serial killer by chance in my local library and, although I have not read it yet, I am intrigued by the plot: a sociopath who knows his condition represses himself until a killer starts attacking his town… and he thinks it’s time to let his wish for killing out. Ok, this is Dexter, right? But I haven’t read the Dexter novels or seen the TV show, so I am not a serial killer sounds fantastic.

I am also wishing to read some Southern literature.

Gone with the wind seems to be a favourite in the blogosphere and, after seeing some stills from the movie, I cannot wait to read it! I feel a little bit challenged by the number of pages, though, but having as much time as I will, the length won’t be a problem.

I bought The Optimist’s Daughter a few months ago and haven’t had time to read it yet. But I have already read an amazing short-story by Welty and I really liked her style and her themes. I consider her the social chronicler of the South in the 20th century.

I am super excited for all these wonderful books and I can’t wait to devote some good three or four hours a day to reading. Do you have any special plans for this summer?

5 thoughts on “May Book Sightings

  1. Yay for only one exam left! It sounds like you have some good reading planned. Have you seen the BBC series of Case Histories? I haven’t read any of the books yet, but I really enjoyed the series when I watched it last summer, so maybe I should… I haven’t read Gone with the Wind, although everything I’ve seen about it suggests that it’s so enjoyable the length isn’t really a problem.

    My summer reading plans are kind of sketchy at the moment, mostly because I’m not caught up on my spring plans. Hopefully some Victorians, though. I have a shelf-full!

    • Thanks, Amanda! I can’t believe I’m almost done.

      Regarding the BBC series, I haven’t. Mainly because I haven’t read Case Histories yet, but also because I’m not sure I could watch another “version” other than that I imagined. For example, I thought Louise was a brunette, but I’ve seen some pictures and on the series she is blonde. Do you recommend me the series? I always trust the BBC, actually so, maybe I should get them.

      Gone with the Wind has been in my mind for some months now. I can’t get it out of my head but I never decide to buy it. It’s weird. I am so willing to love it that I’m afraid I won’t once I start reading it.

      • I enjoyed the series, so from that perspective I would recommend it, but I understand not wanting to see another “version.” Since I haven’t read any of the books, I don’t know how similar or different the two actually are.

  2. They sound loverly! I will be down to one online class as of July 11. As soon as that happens… I’m going to start reading like mad. Enjoy every bit of your summer because you have most definitely earned it. Belle

    • Thanks, Belle! Good luck with this very last days, I hope your technique of saving one hour a night for your personal reading works. It did with me :)

Leave a Reply

