A Victorian Celebration – First post

So, it’s 1st June and A Victorian Celebration starts today! I haven’t bought any of the books I was planning on reading but I’ll definitely try to start something today. I am very very intrigued by Treasure Island (Robert Louis Stevenson) which makes it the most probable first reading :)

I would also discuss some e-reading. Obviously, the cheapest way to read anything from the 19th century nowadays is to download it for free. Now, I have an iPad and I try to use it as much as I can but I always end up working on media – pics and movies – instead of using it for e-reading. For someone like me who adores books – the physical aspect is also very important – e-reading is not an option. But, I think this is the perfect even to be reconciled with my iPad and e-books.

Meanwhile I’m reading The Optimist’s Daughter by Eudora Welty, my first contact with Southern literature and I’m loving it. However, I feel like I’m missing something and should complement the reading with some article/theory. The eyes theme reminds me a lot of The Great Gatsby and the modernist Americans!

Lately, I’ve been giving the Kindle second thoughts. Do you have it? Do you like it? Do you read more?

9 thoughts on “A Victorian Celebration – First post

  1. I don’t have a Kindle but a Sony (one of the first ones, so it has no fancy colors, touch pad and what not) and wouldn’t want to miss it. It is reliable, comfortable and the pages look like a book. I also once went on about the bookish “feel” and e-readers are not the real thing, but now they are, at least to me.
    I don’t read more, but I find the e-reader very convenient.

    • Thanks, Rikki! I’ve head the Sony e-reader is pretty cool (and expensive). I don’t know why I have a fiaxation with the Kindle. Probably their marketing is too good!!

  2. I have the first Sony, the first Kindle and the first Nook (I’m obsessive). I never got the hang of the Sony, I used the Kindle for the first 6 months straight and the Nook for about 2 months. Now, I haven’t used any of them for more than 6 months or closer to a year. I love my real books. One thing that has been bugging me lately though is bestseller hardcover books. You know, the ones you have to have right upon publication and there is no way you can wait for the paperback. I’m starting to feel wasteful about buying those and my conscience bugs me. I may switch to electronic reading for those. This only happens about 4 times a year for me. On the other hand, you can get some pretty awesome deals on e-reads now and again and those are hard to pass up. I just wrote a book and I’m sorry.

  3. Not necessarily, Elena! I don’t use mine all the time, but I take it out with me (better than a big book anytime) whenever I go somewhere where there is waiting time involved. I am also one of thoe people who love gadgets and then lose interest fast, but not with the e-reader.
    What I like about the Sony is that is NOT with WiFi but cable. That whole WiFi thing creeps me out. Did you know that at one point amazon removed books from people’s kindle because someone had sold books to which they had no right? WiFi for you.

    • They did what?? Incredible, I had no idea! There is a new Kindle though that doesn’t have WIFI and, if I ever bought one, that would be it.

      I like my iPad, I really do but I have no idea why I am so interested on the Kindle right now. The curious thing is I’m pretty sure I won’t use it that much… I always carry a book with me (which means I have large handbags!) sometimes, even hardback ones!

  4. Ah, Treasure Island! My mom read that to my brother and I when we were little, the first time we went to the beach. The copy she read from (and which I now claim) came from my grandma by way of her brother. It’s probably nearly 90 years old.

    Enjoy!

    • I just bought it today, Amanda and I’m so excited!

      Do you have pics to show us of that wonderful edition of yours? It is lovely that it is part of your family’s history, but I’m sure it is a pleasure to look at.

Tell us what you think?

