My summer of reading

During my years in college, summers meant that I had one month to be lazy before the next academic year started. Normally, it would be two months, but I had to sit some exams and always (always!) did a summer course, afraid I would be bored with so much free time. This year, everything is different: I did not enroll on any summer course, although part of me thinks I should have done it; and my next exam will take place on January 2013. Meanwhile, my time is, for the first summer in five years, mine!

Right now, I am reading books from my TBR pile (some of them, I bought back in 2010) and also reading review copies. This is the first time that I ever accept review copies but I am already in awe at the generosity and kindness of the publishers I have dealth with. According to my Review Policy, I am only accepting crime fiction or thrillers because my studies focus on that. Many would consider these kind of books second-class literature, but I think they are a clear reflection of our society’s flaws and values. Everytime we read a crime novel, we see our moral values challenged and, usually, a clear reflection of reality and society.

My last reading was a very intense one, Freedom by Jonathan Franzen. It was one of the books that affected me the most, even in physical terms so I was relieved to be done with it. My next reading (come back for my review this week) was also physically intense: Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I had first seen it to Reese Witherspoon who said it was her new favourite book so much so as to buy the rights, become the producer, and probably, starring, on the movie adaptation. Then, the book hit the stores and just a week ago, I saw Leah reading it and I decided to join her. Cheryl’s 1,100 miles walk made me a) want to walk and b) sympathize with her struggle both physical and psychological. I finished Wild yesterday and it was the end of two very intense readings. I hope my next books are more relaxed and allow me some rest.

As you can see, I am at my happiest! Being able to devote so much time to reading and writing has improved everything. Also, not having to wake up early in the morning really helps when I stay up very late reading which is one of my guilty pleasures. I love when I start reading and, suddenly when I look back at the clock, it is one or even two in the morning! I am not able to do this during the day, when my family is around and I can clearly see the day passing, but at night, everything is different! The streets are quiet, everyone is sleeping and there is no good TV. Ain’t it perfect?

So, that is all for now. You have a happy blogger here, reading, looking for new books and writing, just enjoying the good life! I hope you are all having a great summer too and get to spend more time reading than on your average day. If you go on holidays, be careful and enjoy them.

12 thoughts on “My summer of reading

  1. Glad you’re enjoying your holidays, how wonderful to have time to yourself to devote to reading and writing. I hope to do something similar when my summer holiday starts in two weeks time.

  2. Ahhh… the good life and you so deserve it. I’m down to 1 class and that feels like heaven to me. Yesterday at 8:30 a.m. I actually had no homework due and read all day! Yay for me! Yay for you!

Tell us what you think?

