Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

September 11:  Top Ten Books That Make You Think (About The World, People, Life, etc.)

I think every book makes me think, even if I don’t like it or I think it’s bad (this comes from loving best-sellers so much). But there were some books that not only made me think, but changed the way I think. For me, it’s all about finding new perspectives and realizing that there is nothing in life that cannot be seen differently. It’s all about perception!

1. When will there be good news? By Kate Atkinson.- One of the characters, Joanna has gone through a lot in life, yet she comes as an optimistic and positive character. Want proof? Review here. Quote from the book:

No, not those kinds of things. I mean the way we live our lives. There isn’t a template, a pattern that we’re supposed to follow. There ‘s no one watching us to see if we’re doing it properly, there is no properly, we just make it up as we go along.

2. One Good Turn By Kate Atkinson.- This woman seems to create perfect characters. For this one, you won’t have the quote because reading the whole book will make you think more than a single quote. It’s all about the plot. Review here.

3. Alias Grace by Maragaret Atwood.- Did someone say perspective and points of view? In this book, Atwood explores not only personal points of view but historical ones, for example, what meant madness for a woman in the 19th century (vs. what it means now). Review here.

4. The Coroner by M.R Hall.- Like Joanna, Jenny Cooper goes through a lot, but she survives like many other women in the real world with similar lives do. Whenever I feel like have a bad day (for a silly reason) I think about them, take a deep breath and try to change the way I’m perceiving everything. Review here.

5. The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton.- I’m cheating a little bit here, because Morton’s writing is so cozy and captivating that it makes you forget everything. Thinking is not allowed, only reading and enjoying. Review here.

6. The Master Builder by Hernik Ibsen.- I’m a big fan of plays and this one changed the world of drama when it was published. It is such a beautifully and tragically constructed allegory you cannot but think about symbolism in the real world. Here goes another great quote: (Review here)

OLNESS: I believe there is only one possible dwelling-place for human
happiness–and that is what I am going to build now.

HILDE: Mr. Solness–you mean our castles in the air.

 SOLNESS: The castles in the air–yes.

7. The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown.- This book is awesome in many ways, but I found it led to introspection in a good way, not making you feel guilty about your choices but showing you that many others also commit mistakes and it’s all right. Review here.

8. The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer.- I read this book for a course and although I did not enjoy the reading, I enjoyed the message you got after finishing a tale. Somehow, they all have something very postmodern in them, despite having been written in the 14th century. Review here.

9. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.- My favourite book! For me, it is a jewel and it makes you think about anything: it is a book about life, about growing up from youth to adulthood, about love, money and desires. Another book about castles in the air. Review here.

10. The Constant Gardener by John LeCarré.- Have you ever suffered from a headache in the middle of the street without a pill to calm the pain? Well, now think about dying without medications (or because of lack of). This book changed the way I perceive pain, diseases and made me see how over-medicated we are. Quite something to think about in the modern world.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Great list Elena! I see a number of books that I’ve been meaning to read ;)

    I want to read The Canterbury Tales but I’m honestly a little intimidated by it xP I love how these books written back then can be so applicable today (The Kalevala comes to mind for me).

    • I recommend you the Penguin Classics edition: it is translated to Modern English, but it is still blank verse. If you like reading short stories, you’ll like them. I can revisit them and recommend you a few (that you can find online) and see if you think you’ll like them.

Tell us what you think?

