Summer readings

These are the books I’m looking forward to read this summer. I will try to read them all because I’ve been collecting them for several months but, because of my college readings, it’s been impossible to deal with them properly!

The Private Lives of Pippa Lee (Rebecca Miller)

After watching the movie, I cannot wait to read the book:  Rebecca Miller, daughter of Arthur Miller and wife of Daniel Day-Lewis deals with the life of a middle-aged perfect housewife living in the suburbs while she tries to erase her wild past. It looks like a great psychological study of a great character.

A Streetcar Named Desire (Teneese Williams)

The story of a complex woman in decline, Blanche Dubois tries to survive her addictions and her flaws after she loses all the money she had inherited. Both Rachel Weisz and Cate Blanchett played this intriguing woman last year: if such women were interested, I consider this a must in my list.

Portrait of a Lady (Henry James)

After reading The Turn of the Screw I fell in love with Henry James and this book seems great too: Isabel is a young woman travelling through Europe when something happens to her. In the back page, this book is described as a “psychological study of the female mind” and although I do not agree with such term, it seems a very interesting story.

The Constant Gardener (John Le Carre)

Being Rachel Weisz one of my favourite actresses it was obvious I had to read this book before watching the movie for which she was awarded an Academy Award. When the body of English journalist Tessa Doyle appears, no one suspects the reality behind her, supposedly, quiet life and only her husband will be able to find out who she really was.

The Help (Kathryn Stockett)

I’ve been chasing this book for some months now and I can’t wait any longer!!! It deals with the lives of four women in New Orleans in the 1950’s: from the rebel rich girl to the African-American who wants to create her own business. Light reading for a week at the beach.

The Friday Night Knitting Club (Kate Jacobs)

A common choice for our Book Club, it became so when a friend of mine decided to start knitting herself. The lives of a group of friends who meet every friday night to knit… and gossip change suddenly and they find out they only have each other to realy on. Another light reading.

One thought on “Summer readings

  1. sadiejean says:

    Sounds great! The Help is on my list, and at one point I think I owned The Friday Night Knitting Club, although I have no idea where it is. The Turn of the Screw is also on my list, so if I like it I’ll have to add A Portrait as well!

    Like

Tell us what you think?

