Book Sightings – January

Reading some of your blog entries and searching the net, I’ve come across some wonderful and interesting works:

Thanks to Short Story Addict, I discovered The Resemblance Between a Violin Case and a Coffin by one of my favourite writers, Tennessee Williams. You can read James’ review here: it is fantastic. I hope I can get to read this short story as soon as I visit my college’s library next week. Also from his blog, I heard about The Snows of Kilimanjaro by Ernest Hemingway who I have studied this year. I got to admit I’m not Hemingway’s biggest fan, but this short story sounds interesting, very psychological. I think I will like it.

Agnes Grey is quite a popular work in some Victorian blogs out there, especially at  Every Book and Cranny (a highly recommended blog if you are into Victorian literature) I’ve read, mainly, good things, so being a Brontë fan, I think I should give it a try. However, it does not feel right yet since I’m starting three new literature courses in a week!

Freedom by Jonathan Franzen is everywhere. I’m heard a lot about it and I’ve seen some interesting people reading it. It seems Franzen is quite a hit in the USA, but in Europe he is not that big… yet. I hope to read his work this spring/summer. Can’t wait!

Have you discovered any books this week? Any more suggestions?

One thought on “Book Sightings – January

Tell us what you think?

