February Book Sightings

I’m really busy with college and my readings are becoming more and more dense and long, so I’ve thought about letting you know of my last book sightings (already bought some) so you can keep me posted with your opinions. Here they go:

The Passage by Justin Cronin (Bought)

Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she’s the most important person in the whole world. She is. Anthony Carter doesn’t think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row. He’s wrong. FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming. It is. THE PASSAGE.

Why? I’ve never been a fan of sci-fi but as I’m growing older, I’ve discovered I like it! This sounded very much like the TV show Fringe and it also looked light reading. The perfect combination for a literary rest away from Chaucer and Shakespeare.

You can find a review by Trish on her blog Desktop Retreat – recently added to my literary sites links.

How to read the Air by Dinaw Mengestu (Just seen it)

One early September afternoon, Yosef and Mariam, young Ethiopians set off on a road trip from their new home in Peoria, Illinois, to Nashville, Tennessee. Thirty years later, Yosef has died, and the couple’s son, Jonas, is desperate to make sense of the cultural ties. How can he envision his future without knowing what has come before?

Why? I love postcolonial literature. I’ve always had wonderful and inspiring teachers realated to the subjects (one of them, an interantionally well-known professor who translates Margaret Atwood’s works). I saw this while surfing The Book Depository and I thought it looked perfect.

Have you read any of them? Do you find them interesting?

 

Plots by The Book Depository

Tell us what you think?

