Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I got into The Hunger Games and now I can’t escape them!

4/5

Catching Fire is the second book in Suzanne Collins’ triology and it shows a delicious development of the world she created in the previous book. Because we all already know the main characters, we sympathize with them, but, Collins spands their world as they visit the 12 districts.

First, what I didn’t like: I know it’s a YA novel so the love story is important but I just want to shout at Katniss! How does she dare to treat Peeta like she does? Team Peeta here!! But, you do wonder who she’ll eventually choose.

Then, I loved the suspense and how things turn out unexpectedly, because really, no reader can expect what eventually happens. Plus, the ending kind of forces you to long for Mockingjay, the third and last book. One thing I love is that they can be read as pure sci-fi by teenagers or as a critic to nowadays politics and social problems, especially in the USA.

So, as a whole I’m really happy with The Hunger Games and they are far better than I expected (not a fan of YA novels). Probably when I’m done with my exams I’ll rush to the library to borrow the third book!!

2 thoughts on “Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Tell us what you think?

