Eleanor Brown (The Weird Sisters) Interview for Books and Reviews

As you already know, my top favourite book this summer is The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown. In fact, I love it so much that I was lucky enough to contact the author herself and she kindly asnwered five questions. So, technically I inteviewed by first best-selling author!!

Hope you enjoy this interview and I’d like to trully thank Eleanor Brown for being so kind and so patient and taking some of her time to be interviewed by a blogger. You can thank her personally on twitter (@Eleanorwrites) and don’t forget to read my review to make sure you purchase this wonderful book.

Q1: How did you come to create the “we” perspective? It’s unusual yet it works with the three sisters and their relationship.
I am generally fascinated by narrators and point of view and how that affects stories, and at some point I wondered, “Why doesn’t anyone use first person plural narrators?” I now know that (a) people do, just not very often, and (b) they don’t do it very often because it’s difficult! But for this story, I thought there is a “we” that develops out of any close relationship – siblings, families, close friends, marriages – that seemed to fit, and it was a good way to underscore the fact that though they are quite different and, at least at the beginning, not very close, their sisterhood has influenced the people they became, the way that all our families influence us, no matter our relationship with them.
Q2: The reader gets to love the three sisters despite their faults. How did you achieve that?
Wow, thank you! I’d like to think I just made them as human as possible. None of us is perfect – we are often foolish or cruel or thoughtless, but we are just as often kind and brilliant and warm, and we all manage to love each other anyway, and that’s the way I like to think of the Andreas sisters.
Q3: You play with adultery and out-of-wedlock babies yet the ending is politically correct. Was it on purpouse?
I wanted the sisters to get lost and then find their way again, and that was different for each of them. Adultery is a damaging situation for everyone involved, so in order for that sister to find herself, she needed to get out of it. As for the out-of-wedlock baby, it’s still an out-of-wedlock baby, but I think everyone realizes it doesn’t matter, that the baby will be loved and cared for and raised on good literature, and that sister will find strength in herself she didn’t know she had. I’d call it a happy ending.
Q4: Your book makes readers like me love books even more. Are you passionate about them: smell, turning the pages, etc?
I’m passionate about good stories and good writing in any form. I don’t feel passion for the physical object of a book, but I am deeply passionate about what’s inside them. One of the happiest things about writing The Weird Sisters has been hearing from so many people who love reading and stories in a time when there is so much wringing of hands over the idea that those things have been lost.
Q5 (last): Are you planning any sequel to The Weird Sisters? Are you writing at the moment?
No sequel planned, but I’m flattered that people like the characters enough to want to spend more time with them! And yes, I am writing now, but something different, and I’m having a wonderful time!

Isn’t this the best way to start the 2011/2012 academic year?

Thank you, Eleanor!

Tell us what you think?

