Some thoughts on writing

What a wonderful day! Today I just woke up feeling energized and looking at the bright side of life. I may be that it’s sunny for the first time in a month (although I am not a fan of sun!) or that I finally got to sleep as much as needed and wanted or, maybe it’s just the day.

Lately I’ve been writing a lot, not because I have to but because I want to. I need to. Apart from reading and writing reviews here, I was lucky enough to have been encouraged by my teachers and professors to develop my writing skills from an early age, but somehow I managed to ignore them, because I thought it was not my thing. Then I started school and everything changed, I developed a desire to write and follow the path of some of my favourite writers. And then came Margaret Atwood who advised us when she came to visit: the only advice I have for you is write, write write. So, here I am!

At first, I was a bit reluctant to write my own fiction. I do love reading, so I was completely in awe with other people’s work, that is, other people’s art. But, as the summer started early for me and next year I’m the lucky student of only one subject, I thought I could give writing a try… again. I had already toyed with short stories but long fiction was something I thought impossible. Writing a novel is not an easy task and I thought I could never develop an idea as far as to make it 300 pages long on a Word document. I still don’t know if I can, but I know I am doing it. I am creating something new, always inspired and influenced by other works of art that I love, never forgetting music and the people I look up too.

What pushed me into this writing after so much time? That is what I wanted to share with you today. It was a quote by American writer Tony Morrison:

“If there is a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, you must be the one to write it.”

So, today, that I am so happy to be where I am, happy with everything and so inspired and in awe for the power of another human being to change things, today I wanted to share it with you all and, if possible, encourage you to be challenged and inspired by someone who does something that you want to do too. As readers, although active and very critical, we can get into a reading routine, but what about our own stories?

Is there anything you want to read but hasn’t been written yet? :)

3 thoughts on “Some thoughts on writing

Leave a Reply

