Top Ten Tuesday: Winter Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

So, today I chose Winter Holiday Books because I can’t wait for winter to arrive: it means Christmas, holidays, the streets decortaed with wonderful lights, people wearing gloves, hats and scarves. I love it! But winter is also a great time of the year to curl up with a hot chocolate and a good blanket to watch an old movie and read. That is the perfect evening for me. Here we go: Top Ten Winter Holiday Books.

1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë.- I read it two Christmas ago and I loved it.

2. Elegy for April by Benjamin Black.- The story takes place in a cold winter in 1950’s Ireland. A classic detective book.

3. Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood.- The perfect book for any time of the year, but it is long and so good that needs long evenings with a blanket.

4. When Will There Be Good News by Kate Atkinson.- The story takes place in the last weeks of November and the first ones of December. I highly recommend reading it during those weeks too: sharing the time of the year with the characters is a wonderful experience.

5. The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton.- This is a cozy reading, perfect for those late evenings when you arrive home feeling cold, tired and just need to get in bed and take a deep breath. This book will help.

6. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë.- A classic! Cozy, adorable and a very well-known work.

7. Howards End by E.M Forster.- The book is amazing, but it also has a wonderful adaptation directed by James Ivory. Both the book and the movie make great choices for a cold day at home. I highly recommend both.

8. Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier.- It is an eerie, haunting story. Got some candles?

9. The Weird Sisters by Eleanor Brown.- This is a book about people who love literature, to read, to buy books, open them, smell the pages etc. Perfect to get into a more even bookish mood before Christmas.

10. Lamb by Christopher Moore.- Moore revisits Jesus’ life from the point of view of his childhood bestfriend. I tell you, this is Jesus you’ve never heard of before and you’ll love.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Winter Books

  1. Lianne @ rulethewaves.net says:

    Great list Elena! Ahh, winter books! I think I have a pile that’ll be perfect once the snow starts and stuff…ooh, did I mention I finally got a copy of Brown’s The Weird Sisters? And I was so pleased with myself because I got the hardback for a very good deal–looking forward to reading it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Lucy says:

    Yay, I chose winter/holiday books too! But I think your list is much more accessible than mine. Rebecca, Jane Eyre and The Weird Sisters all sound perfect for winter reading. Thanks for sharing your holiday recs!

    Like

  3. Leah says:

    I totally agree with you that Wuthering Heights and Alias Grace make great winter reads; they are great choices for curling up with a blanket and a hot beverage — maybe in front of a roaring fire?

    I’ll have to read Jane Eyre this winter, and get a start on my E.M. Forster!

    Like

Tell us what you think?

