Dear 2013

Two days shy of 2013, I decided to look at my 2012 and hope the best for my 2013.

2012 was a great year: I took a new approach to blogging and realised there was still too much to be done regarding my reading and my writing. I subscribed to a lot of book blogs (thank you Google Reader!), but I also started to write more often here. At first it was difficult, for I didn’t know what to post, but as time went by, Books and Reviews earned a weekly space in my routine no matter how busy I was. In 2012 Books and Reviews grew and I grew with it.

I also started writing fiction again. However, I am still coming to terms with my writing because it has slowly become something necessary in my life. I don’t remember when or how I started writing either fiction or non-fiction, but in recent years, I have developed a greater love for words. If I don’t write, I get cranky. So, I hope to write more and better in the following years, no matter what my path in life is, I’m sure it will involve reading and writing, of that I’m sure. Meanwhile, I’ll keep practicing for it is a huge part of learning: I believe in natural inclinations but I also believe in hard work, a desire to learn and improve and the many benefits that come out of it.

For 2013 I only wish to experiment with this desire and need to write and I hope to improve with every text, learn from my mistakes and above all, keep the exchange of opinions and ideas over here. It has been great and incredibly enriching to read all your comments and find new approaches to anything I posted here.

I would like take some time to thank all the publishers who trusted me and sent me review copies of their books. I have developed an amazing relationship with some of you and it would be a pleasure to continue those relationships in 2013. Via these publishers, I have also met authors, some of whom have supported me, Books and Reviews and even my academic choices in ways I could never have imagined. A big thank you goes to them for taking their time to become my readers when I only expected to be one of theirs.

Finally, I would like to thank all my readers, commenters, subscribers and Twitter followers. If a text only becomes alive when read, this blog is still alive thanks to your support.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2013 new year sparkler

8 thoughts on “Dear 2013

  1. Iris says:

    Happy new year to you too!

    I agree with you, blogging had helped me to grow as well. It helps me in so many respects when it comes to reading, but also to life in general. I am very grateful that I started blogging (even if I only did it on a whim!) at one point, and even more grateful to have found so many wonderful bloggers like you.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Owww those are some sweet words! Thank you!

      I’ve come to a point when I need blogging, or at least, writing. I spend so much time reading and thinking about books that putting all those thoughts down really helps. And it also helps knowning there are other people out there that enjoy reading and writing as much as I do.

      Like

  2. amanda says:

    I’m happy to hear you had such a good 2012 and that you’ve found such value in blogging, reading, and writing. Happy New Year! Here’s to a wonderful 2013.

    Like

  3. Danielle Dore (@shadytreereads) says:

    Wow, I feel like you are a kindred spirit! (Before I forget, thank you for commenting on my blog and for the book recommendation. ) I love this post because I can relate so well. I quit writing, reading, and blogging for about a year and I felt like a part of me was missing. I am so glad to be doing it again. I feel like I must write. I look forward to following you! Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Happy New Year, Danielle!

      I don’t think I could ever quit reading. Of course I go through phases when I read less, but it is such a huge part of my life that I’d go mad if I did!

      Like

Tell us what you think?

