Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read In 2013

January 1, 2013: Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read In 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

TTT3W

To be fair, this could easily be a description of the TBR piles flooding my desk:

1. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

You all know I love Atkinson and although her new novel is not one in the Jackson Brodie series, I can’t wait to read it. The publisher kindly sent me a review copy.

2. A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

This is such a milesone in modern and feminist literature, I am a little bit embarrassed I haven’t read it it yet. Mr. B&R was as lovely as usual and bought me the Penguin Modern Classics edition.

3. The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton

Li talked so much about E.M Forster that in 2012 I read, and loved, Howards End. Now she’s praising The House of Mirth and I’m super excited to read it as soon as possible.

4. Bird After Bird by Anne Lamott

Another gift from my man, suggested by writer Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters after I asked her about writing books.

5. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

I really want to watch the film, but first, I want to read the book. My parents bought me the 75th anniversary edition.

6. The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood

I’ve owned this book for a while now, but I’m sure it’ll be so great, that I’m always saving it, afraid reading it will leave me without an Atwood book in the pile. Sad.

7.  Anna Karenina by Leo Tosltoy

I also want to watch the film and the movie tie-in edition was too gorgeous and attractive.

8. Body of Evidence (and probably more Scarpetta novels) by Patricia Cornwell

I loved Postmortem and let’s be sincere, a kick-ass female main character solving crimes? Totally up my alley.

9. The Jenny Cooper series by M.R. Hall

A more modern version of Dr. Scarpetta, Jenny Cooper is a coroner with some gorgeous brown hair and an instinct to solve crimes and assert herself.

10. Any play by Tennessee Williams

I haven’t read any of his plays in 2012 and I regret it. I loved A Streetcar Named Desire, being Blanche DuBois one of the greatest female characters out there.

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read In 2013

  1. Lianne @ rulethewaves.net says:

    I hope you enjoy The House of Mirth and Anna Karenina ❤ Gone with the Wind has been on my want-to-read radar for so long…dunno if I’ll be able to get around to it though. And it’s been so long since I’ve watched the movie too, lol

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thanks for warning me, Sam!

      I’m really interested in reading both because all I know is AK is a study character and adultery and GWTW is a love story. I love when I know so little about books and I get to slowly discover them.

      Like

Tell us what you think?

