Top Ten Books I had To Get, But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

After some months quite out of The Broke and the Bookish’ Top Ten Tuesdays, I’ve decided to return with a theme that has recently hit home thanks to Adam from Roof Beam Reader: my TBR pile.

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Many of you have joined the TBR Pile Challenge and I admire you for it. I didn’t join mainly because I like to keep my reading free since I tend to follow a lot of schedules and rules in other parts of my life. Adam kindly invited me in today and although I refused, it felt great because it reminded me I’m part of a community with the same problem: piles of unread books.

I must admit the original title of this Top Ten Tuesday was “Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy” but I changed it because many of the books I’ll be mentioning are review copies or gifts from those who support my addition, especially my wonderful man. So here they are!

1. Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler.

9781250028655_custom-4188299bd401473127a3e1bf8d1ea1aad9b50518-s6-c10

2.The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood

6a00d83451bcff69e201538e3b8c80970b-300wi

3. A Room of One’s Own and Three Guineas by Virginia Woolf

9780141184609

4. London Fields by Martin Amis

01-Random-House

5. Almost English by Charlotte Mendelson

almost-english-978144721997201

6. Emma by Jane Austen

757218

7. Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson

0552996181.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_

8. The Distant Hours by Kate Morton

distant_hours

9. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

9781451635621_custom-a69f234a99cb97db6051c1a67738025e5b56bb01-s6-c10

10. When We Were Orphans by Kazuo Ishiguro

28923

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I had To Get, But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

  1. Jade says:

    We all seem to buy books and let them gather dust, whether blogger or not I think.. When a blogger it just seems to be a bigger number of unread books!
    Gone With The Wind is a book I hope to read sometime. There are also some other interesting titles featured. I hope you get round to them some day!

    My TTT: Bookish Pet Peeves

    Like

  2. mylifeapancake says:

    If it makes you feel any better, The Robber Bride has been sitting unread on my bookshelf for about 10 years. It taunts me every time I look at it.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      It seems like a great novel indeed.

      I started The Distant Hours but it was so good and I had recently read another Morton that I decided to leave it for later on. It sits there, but it’s one of those titles I’m sure I’ll read!

      Like

  3. Rikki says:

    I wish I’d have liked Kate Atkinson because I totally love her book titles. Nice list, Elena. I have only read Emma and liked it a lot.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      I wished you had liked her too, Rikki. But at least you tried. This one I still have to read has nothing to do with crimes, so I’ll keep you posted!

      Like

  4. Lizzi says:

    I must really recommend Almost English to you – I read it a month or so ago and really enjoyed it. Very readable and fun, but wonderfully written too. It’s out in August so I’ll be reviewing it in July.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Are you enjoying it? I think Morton’s books are so cozy and her passion for both reading and writing really translates to her prose. Her books always make want to write and read more šŸ˜€

      Like

      • Melinda says:

        I am not enjoying it as such as I did The Forgotten Garden and The House at Riverton, but I enjoy the read. Did you read those 2? If you want, you can check out my reviews for them

        Like

        • Elena says:

          I read those two and if you liked The House at Riverton and are searching for something similar yet more complex, I highly recommend you The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood. I seriously think Morton plagiarized the plot for Riverton!

          Like

  5. Melinda says:

    Thanks for the recommendation šŸ™‚
    I have read that before, about The Blind Assassin vs The House at Riverton. I will add it to my TBR on Goodreads.

    Like

Tell us what you think?

