Top Ten Topics That Instantly Make Me Pick Up A Book

Another Tuesday, another Top Ten Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Today’s list will be pretty obvious to those who know me.

1. Kay Scarpetta. – Have I mentioned I’ve fallen in love with her? She’s smart, she is a doctor, she solves crimes, she has a gun, she is always busy and tired and overworked. I can relate to some of the latter!

2. Serial Killers.-  The likes of Zodiac (2007) and most of the bad guys in the Scarpetta series are like this. Their cases are usually full of psychological analysis and lots of tension.

3. Dark main characters.- Crime fiction has evolved enough so as to leave room for dark, twisted main characters with whom we end up sympathising wich obviously calls for some introspection.

4. Anything by Kate Atkinson.- I think I’m on the verge of becoming obsessed  with her works. Not that I find anything wrong with that though.

5. Complex, undervalued female characters.- It could be historical as in Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace where the main character is a Canadian supposed killer (You should read this book if you haven’t yet) or fictional as if someone revisited the American Colonial era from a female point of view.

6. Women’s history in the USA.- I’ve long wanted to read a bunch of non-fictional works where the role of women in American history is explored. I started and loved The Plantation Mistress although I didn’t have time to finish it.

7. Philosophical and psychological issues.- I really loved my philosophy lessons in high school and as a consequence I tend to fit in as much philosophy as I can in between my fiction readings. My latest discovery is The Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Taleb.

8. Nordic crime fiction.- It’s been quite popular since Larsson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo became a global success. Ever since, our bookshops have been flooded with Nordic crime fiction, some of it pretty good!

9. 19th century novels by women.- I’m thinking of Wüthering Heights, Cranford, Jane Eyre, Mansfield Park etc. Can you believe I still haven’t read Middlemarch?

10. Any combination of the above!

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Topics That Instantly Make Me Pick Up A Book

  1. lakesidemusing says:

    I love all of those 19th century novels by women, too, but I haven’t read Middlemarch either. It’s on my Classics Club list, so hopefully I’ll get to it soon.

    Kay Scarpetta is great!

    Like

  2. Kelly L. says:

    Oh my goodness, high five!
    Yay for serial killers and dark main characters; people thought I was weird for putting that on my list. 😛
    And ohh, psychological issues would make an excellent read! (:
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT! (:

    Like

  3. Leah says:

    I don’t read crime fiction, but I love the rest of these! Complex female characters, women’s history, and psychological issues are all so fascinating!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      I’ve been thinking for quite some time whether you read crime fiction or not and really couldn’t made up my mind. People either hate it or love it and I had serious doubts about you 🙂

      And yes, psychological issues are the best. I really do recommend you Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood. There’s no other option but that you’ll love it.

      Like

  4. Sam (Tiny Library) says:

    Women’s history in the US – now that sounds interesting 🙂
    I’m not a crime reader either, unfortunately. I always think they sound like fun but can never quite get into them properly.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      It’s funny I always thought a vast majority loved crime fiction but most of the blogs I read are not crime fiction readers! I’ll let you know if I find some interesting US non-fition 😉

      Like

Tell us what you think?

