Top Ten Favourite Quotes

Another Tuesday, another Top Ten Tuesday by The Broke and the Bookish!

TTT3W

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

Just of lately I’ve been collecting quotes from my favourite books, so these will come as no surprise to those who know what kind of books I like. I think it’s also important to share why I loved the quotes because although they are meaningful in themselves, they appealed directly to some moment or some part of my life.

1. On enjoying the processes more than merely achieving your goal just to move to the next one. Overachievers will know what I’m talking about!

  • From Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

“We all get on”, Sylvie said, “one way or another. And in the end we all arrive at the same place. I hardly see that it matters how we get there.”

It seemed to Ursula that how you get there was the whole point, but there was nothing to be gained from arguing with Sylvie on the days she was mired in gloom.

(p. 238)

2. On the importance of finding balance between work and leisure.

  • From Little Women by Louisa May Alcott:

“You may try your experiment for a week, and see how you like it. I think by Saturday night you will find that all play and no work is as bad as all work and no play.”

3. On overworrying, how it leads to nothing and how destructive it can be.

  • From Howards End by E.M Forster:

“She could not explain in so many words, but she felt that those who prepare for all the emergencies of life beforehand may equip themselves at the expense of joy.”

4. The reason why I love Atkinson’s books. Just yesterday I spent my whole day watching Law and Order: Special Victims Unit and when I finally opened Started Early, Took my Dog (by Atkinson too) do you know what I found? A reference to L&O: SVU.

  • From When Will There be Good News? by Kate Atkinson

“A coincidence is just an explanation waiting to happen”

5. On tackling your problems one by one. This came particularly handy when a beloved one was sick and we couldn’t think beyond that night.

  • From Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy:

“There was no answer, except the general answer life gives to all the most complex and insoluble questions. That answer is: one must live for the needs of the day, in other words, become oblivious.”

6. On growing up in a society that still expects certain things from women and the struggle to discover if you – as an individual completely aware of her self and able to make good decisions – want those things or not.

  • From The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath:

“If neurotic is wanting two mutually exclusive things at one and the same time, then I’m neurotic as hell. I’ll be flying back and forth between one mutually exclusive thing and another for the rest of my days.”

7.Words have always been special to me having always known that I was a reader and a writer. As time went by, I found I can only make sense of certain things if I can put them into words the same way one only and truly understands something if they can explain it to another person.

  • From Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson:

“In the end, it is my belief, words are the only things that can construct a world that makes sense.”

8. On the reassuring fact that we are subjects in control of our decisions and how we can craft our own identities.

  • From Life After Life by Kate Atkinson:

“He was born a politician.
No, Ursula thought, he was born a baby, like everyone else. And this is what he has chosen to become.”

9. On enjoying the unexpectable which actually translates as being open to change and adapt yourself to the situation. The survival of the fittest and all that.

  • From The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood:

“If you knew what was going to happen, if you knew everything that was going to happen next—if you knew in advance the consequences of your own actions—you’d be doomed. You’d be ruined as God. You’d be a stone. You’d never eat or drink or laugh or get out of bed in the morning. You’d never love anyone, ever again. You’d never dare to.”

10.Our own thoughts can sometimes be… overwhelming. No need to worry!

  • From Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood:

 “If we were all on trial for our thoughts, we would all be hanged.”

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite Quotes

  1. Lucy (@tolstoytherapy) says:

    I love this post! That Anna Karenina quote is also great.

    Life After Life, which I read over Easter, was my first Kate Atkinson book – do you have a particular novel by her that you’d recommend for me to read next?

    I’ll be sure to return to this list 🙂

    Like

    • Elena says:

      I think Behind the Scenes at the Museum is very similar to Life After Life, yet it is still a great story with a lovely and complex main character. The Jackson Brodie series are also great if you like detective fiction!

      Like

Tell us what you think?

