Death Comes to Pemberley (BBC)

Just a quick status update:

Today I discovered that the BBC has adapted P.D James’ novel Death Comes to Pemberley – which I loved, see my review here –  as a three-part mystery airing next week. So, since I loved the book so much, I am obviously enthusiastic about it. But, for what I saw on the trailer – although it’s only 48 seconds – has left me wondering if they are keeping Elizabeth as strong, driven and intelligent as James rewrote her. I really hope they do, because it was one of the things I liked the most, apart from the crime! For all you can see on the trailer, though, it’s women desperately crying, and men fightint each other. But, on a more positive note, I love that they present Elizabeth and Darcy as a strong couple who stay together. So, let’s just wait til Chritmas. Can’t wait!

Now, can we devote a line to comment on Matthew Rhys as Mr. Darcy? All I want to say is: Yes!

6 thoughts on “Death Comes to Pemberley (BBC)

  1. madamebibilophile says:

    I didn’t particularly enjoy Death Comes to Pemberley, but I think this adaptation will be good viewing! Anna Maxwell Martin has a history of playing strong women in literary adaptations, so hopefully its just that the trailer hasn’t done the female characters justice. I thought she was very good as Esther in Bleak House and also as Sarah in South Riding (both of those were BBC too). Fingers crossed – I’m looking forward to it!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      I had never heard of her, but taking into account my love for English actresses (don’t get me startd on Weisz and Arterton) I think I should check her work!

      Like

  2. amanda says:

    I’ll have to wait until the spring before I get to see this (don’t remember when for sure, but I think either April or May). Sigh. All the good BBC shows take forever to get to the U.S.! Following on what madamebibilophile says above, I also quite liked Bletchly Circle which Anna Maxwell Martin starred in. I believe it was also BBC, but I don’t think it was based on a book. If you’re not familiar, I think you might like it as it was a crime drama with a cast full of wonderful female characters.

    Like

  3. Julia says:

    I actually liked the first part of the adaptation (as did, somewhat surprisingly, Sam Wollaston from The Guardian). People complain about how it is historically inaccurate, but, as I really don’t care about such petty details, I just enjoyed the whodunnit and the Austeny (worst neologism ever) atmosphere. I’ll definitely watch part 2 on iPlayer tonight and try to catch part 3 when it’s on 🙂

    Like

Tell us what you think?

