Feminist Sundays: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

20131207-235344.jpg

Feminist Sundays is a weekly meme created at Books and Reviews. The aim is simply to have a place and a time to talk about feminism and women’s issues. This is a place of tolerance, creativity, discussion, criticism and praise. Remember to keep in mind that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, although healthy discussion is encouraged.

Today, I would like to donate my words to someone who can put them way better than me: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I know the video has been very popular since being featured on a Beyoncé song, but Chimamanda shares one of my favourite ideas about feminism: You can be a feminist and African and wear lip gloss and high heels if you want to. Don’t conform to what people label as “woman” or “feminist” or “whatever” because you have the the power to define yourself . Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Feminist Sundays: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

  1. amanda says:

    I haven’t the time to watch this just now (I’ve saved it for later), but the little summary you give of her definition of a feminist is one I subscribe to. This also reminds me that I have one of her books languishing on my shelf. Perhaps it needs to move its way up my list…

    Like

Tell us what you think?

