Reading Around the Web

I have been doing some very interesting reading around the web of lately, so here it is a compilation of the posts that I liked the most and that I think you will enjoy as much as I did:

  • O tweeted a link to this article on The Guardian: Don’t stop prisoners receiving books, they’re a vital rehabilitation tool. I am appalled by the Ministry of Justice not allowing prisoners to receive books anymore. I visited the state prison’s women section over here last year and they were very proud about their library although it mainly contained romance novels. One of the women said to me that she had rediscovered reading and, in a more practical way admitted that either you kept yourself busy while in there or you went crazy, and books worked perfectly for this.
  • Sam Baker also twitted a link to an inspiring Gloria Steinem quote on the event of her 80th birthday, but the link was not working, so instead I found it here. Happy birthday, Gloria!

“I have yet to hear a man ask for advice on how to combine marriage and a career.”

tweet

3 thoughts on “Reading Around the Web

  1. yasmine rose says:

    Thanks for sharing! I am currently reading a book about Sylvia Plath so that interview sounds fascinating, I am going to listen to it right now!

    Like

  2. Cathy746books says:

    I too was disgusted about prisoners no longer being allowed to receive books from outside. How are we, as a society, to educate and rehabilitate prisoners if not through books. If a prisoner has an interest is it not better to foster that and try and avoid re offending??

    Like

Tell us what you think?

