Spring Break

Hi, everyone!!

It has been a while since I last blogged, but there were a lot of things going on. So, here’s a little update in the middle of my Spring Break:

  • I stepped out of my comfort zone and decided to fill in the form to be a TEDx speaker. Lucky me, I got chosen and a month later I was on the stage talking about my passion: crime fiction. It was scary and amazing, but above all, I learnt that stepping out of your comfort zone is something we should all do more often.
  • I finally started watching True Detective and the first thing I have to say is that I want a leather notebook to bring to my crime scenes. I know I do nto have any crime scenes… but can I least have the Southern drawl, please? Bear with me, I am still on episode 2 and then we can talk about that amazing finale you all talk about.
  • I managed to get a review copy of the following books:
  1. Someone Else’s Skin by Sarah Hilary.- I heard about this on Twitter and I almost harrassed the Sam, the publisher, for a review copy. Lucky me, I got one (and Sam was amazing.)
  2. Linda, as in Linda the Murder by Leif G W Persson.- I read about this at a few blogs and I loved the idea of a murder at a police academy.
  3. Blue Monday, Tuesday’s Gone and Waiting for Wednesday by Nicci French.- I was emailed by the publisher to review Waiting for Wednesday and, cheeky me, I asked for the two previous books in the series. Luckily, I was emailed the three of them.
  • I finally discovered that I need writing to be happy: a writing day is a happy day.
  • I no longer have to attend lessons… in 3 years, which is kind of bittersweet, but I can’t wait to start this new chapter!

So, are you enjoying your Spring Break?

 

8 thoughts on “Spring Break

  1. baduquainutter says:

    I like that, that idea of stepping out of one’s comfort zone. I’ve a mind to try it today! (6:23 in the morning as I speak) My spring break has begun with me finding the requirement to write pages and pages about the media’s perception on Cleopatra! On a brighter note, however, I have moved to a little town and it has a fantastic library and I can just envision plenty of evenings involving my nose buried in a glorious book.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Congrats on getting up so early, it is one of the things that makes me super happy and that I find the hardest to achieve. Please let us know if you write something about Cleopatra, because she is a fascianting woman!

      Like

  2. susanosborne55 says:

    Many congratulations on taking your courage in your hands and getting up on stage, Elena! I’m sure it will be much easier next time around and you have a new string to your bow. I’ve heard so many good things about True Detective I think I’ll have to watch it. Enjoy the rest of your break.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thanks, Susan. I hope you watch it because it is super good, but it is also very dark and moody, so be sure to be OK when you watch it πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Leah says:

    Congrats on your TED talk! I would never have the courage to do that. I’m sure you were amazing, and I wish I could hear your talk.

    You should totally get a leather notebook. You could use it as a journal or a to-do list. (My boyfriend uses the bullet journal [http://www.bulletjournal.com] system with a Moleskin notebook to keep track of his to-do list, and he likes it a lot.) Then you could be a total bad-ass while checking things off!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thanks, Leah. It was a TEDx so it was independently organized by people from my school. They were amazing and made me feel super comfortable.

      I had no idea about that bullet journal but looks amazing. Thanks. Tom is a clever man!

      Like

  4. Risa says:

    What’s a TED? But it sounds like you’ve had a great opportunity, so congratulations!! I hope the rest of your spring break is a good one. πŸ™‚

    Oh! and I just have to say this….LOVE your header! πŸ˜€

    Like

Tell us what you think?

