Top Ten Tuesday: Female Characters I admire

I thought it was time to join The Broke and the Bookish’ Top Ten Tuesdays again and this one just felt so right!

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created here at The Broke and the Bookish. This feature was created because we are particularly fond of lists here at The Broke and the Bookish. We’d love to share our lists with other bookish folks and would LOVE to see your top ten lists!

I decided to choose Top Ten Characters that I admire because of lately I have been more and more inspired by bookish characters. So, here they are:

1. Irene Adler, from the Sherlock Holmes canon by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.- THE woman. Need I say more?

2. Dr. Kay Scarpetta, from the Kay Scarpetta series by Patricia Cornwell.- She is a hard-working, strong, independent, very clever, very smart and powerful woman. She is also a workaholic, so it is easy to feel comfort in her lack of sleeping and no-time-for-eating schedule when I am overworked.

3. Coroner Jenny Cooper, from The Coroner by M.R. Hall .- Another strong, independent woman, but with a dark side. She also has dark, long hair and loves fashion.

4. Dr. Temperance Brennan, created by Kathy Reich.- Ok, so I admit my knowledge of Dr. Brennan comes from the TV show Bones rather than the books. But I think she is amazing nevertheless!

5. Grace Marks, from Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood.- Grace is your typical 19th century inmate. Or is she not?

6. All the ladies from Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell.- The sisterhood these ladies created to help and support each other is just marvellous.

7. Eve Dalladay, from Keep Your Friends Close by Paula Daly.- She is a modern femme fatale verging on psychopath.

8. Ursula Todd, from Life After Life by Kate Atkinson.- Even though she was not conscious of it, I learned about the many ways life can go on and how it is okay to live your own life in your own terms.

9. Louise Monroe from When will There be Good News by Kate Atkinson.- A great detective and an average mother and partner judging by the patriarchy.

10. Esther Greenwood, from The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath.- Another female character from which I learned it is fine to want it all and nothing at the same time. But, above all, I learned the right to be confused by society’s expectations of women.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Female Characters I admire

  1. Sarah says:

    I love Irene Adler and all the women in Cranford too. In crime fiction, I would add Mrs Maigret (in the background but wholly admirable).

    Like

    • Elena says:

      I don’t think there is anyone out there who does not love Adler 😀 I do not think I’m familiar with Mrs. Maigret as a character although the name is obviously familiar to me.

      Like

Tell us what you think?

