Ending the Year with Books

How can it be December already? Where did the year I started as a M.A student and finished as a PhD candidate go? How can it be possible? Well, it may be true that time goes faster as you grow older, because although I have achieved more than I could think of this year, it really seems like it was yesterday when I published the first review of 2014! For the last month of 2014 I have great plans, some of them already accomplished.

I wanted to read The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell only if and when I had free time to spend as many hours reading as I wanted. I managed it during the first week of December. Needless to say, it was awesome. I would wake up and know that anything and everything I had to do was read a good book. Pure joy!

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins had been sitting on my TBR pile for too long. I was one of the lucky people to get a physical review copy last August, and everyone on Twitter insisted so much on how addictive this book was, that I knew I had to wait. It took me 3 sittings last weekend to read it.

Dying for Christmas by Tammy Cohen seems the perfect novel to read before Christmas. I know most people prefer a cozy, moral tale, but how can I give up my favourite literary genre on my favourite time of the year? Not possible, I tell you.

This year I had the pleasure to discover Liane Moriarty’s Little Lies and it was so good that I requested the publishers a review copy of her first novel, The Husband’s Secret. I have been saving it for a special time, because I loved Little Lies so much that I don’t think I can look at my TBR pile and not see a Moriarty there. It means comfort reading, it means a great novel! But, wouldn’t I be happier if I just read it? I have long thought this will be my last book of 2014.

How are you thinking of spending December? Book-wise and not! The Christmas enthusiast in me would love to hear your plans because only two weeks til Christmas Eve!

BookTree1-550x550

DISCLAIMER: All the bookish plans on this post are thought as of to be dismantled if necessary πŸ™‚

 

 

12 thoughts on “Ending the Year with Books

  1. Sam (Tiny Library) says:

    It’s been a big year for you! How long do you think you will spend on your phD?
    I’m so excited for Christmas this year, we are planning to spend the morning at home just the three of us, and then visiting both sets of parents in the afternoon/evening.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      It has, Sam! Well, the customary 3 years should be enough, but I can expand it to 4 if needed.

      And I’m so excited for Christmas with you and little Giles. I love babies’ and children’s faces in Christmas: “Toys? For me?” πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. FictionFan says:

    Little Lies was one of the books of the year for me, and I can’t wait to read more of her stuff. I really enjoyed Dying for Christmas too. I am trying to clear the decks of books I’ve promised to review to make time for any goodies Santa should happen to provide… πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. amanda says:

    Not only how can it be December already, but how can it almost be the end of December already?! I almost envy your December reading as I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump lately, not to mention busy, but I’ll be happy that you’ve had the opportunity to get to some books you’ve wanted to read instead. And I see nothing wrong with reading crime fiction at Christmas, especially if it’s set at Christmas. I hope you’re having a good holiday season and have a good reading end to the year!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Hi, Amanda! Great to see you around πŸ™‚ If I tell you the truth, I’ve hit a reading slump in the first week of my Christmas break, but I’m not feeling better (because it does feel wrong when you don’t want to read, doesn’t it?).

      And what can I tell you? Crime fiction fits all the days of the year for me πŸ™‚

      Like

Tell us what you think?

