January Reading and Hoping for a Better February

2015 has not been the best of years so far. Not in a it’s-cold-and-I-feel-grumpy way, but more like everything seemed to go wrong for a few weeks in a row, which pretty much led me to quit reading for at least 10 days. It was nothing serious, we are all fine at home, and for that I’m grateful every night. Also, things have gotten better during last week, I’m now planning lots of updates and posts, and I’m back to reading. Actually, I’m finding it really hard to put a book down and sit down to write and do research! For what I’ve read in other blogs, January has not been the best month to many of you either, so here’s to a better February for everyone, full of reading, great books, and lots of reviews. Meanwhile, these are the books that kept me sane last month:

  • I finished The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty, which I had started back in December.
  • Because everything was feeling so wrong, I picked up Kay Scarpetta #7, Cause of Death, and I found solace in the autopsy rooms and the morgue.
  • I discovered Rebecca Scherm’s Unbecoming, a terrific novel on crafting your identity in your 20s.
  • Still Missing by Beth Gutcheon was the first Persephone Book I read and now I can’t wait to lay my hands on another one.

Stay tuned because all the books will be reviewed here in the next 10 days.

So, since it’s Monday, and it’s February, what are you reading? I still haven’t picked up a book after finishing Still Missing because I thought the postwoman would bring some books today. Alas, she hasn’t. But don’t worry, it’s not like I’ve run out of books πŸ˜‰ Meanwhile, we are expecting a snowstorm tomorrow, that will more likely than not keep me home reading and writing until Sunday. I know, lucky me!

30 thoughts on “January Reading and Hoping for a Better February

  1. MarinaSofia says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve had a tough month – some weeks or months just are like that, but they are usually balanced out by very good months, so let’s hope February is that for you! (And March, and April…)

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thank you, MarinaSofia. I realy do know that there need to be bad times so that the good ones are good, but by mid-January it felt suffocating! I hope you had a great January!

      Like

  2. jessicabookworm says:

    I’m sorry to hear January wasn’t a good month for you. I hope February is easier for you and that you have time for more reading. I am currently reading Tender is the Night by F Scott Fitzgerald and a lovely memoir.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thank you, Jessica. I hope so too.

      I got Save Me the Waltz by Zelda Fitgerald for my birthday last week! Can’t wait to compare notes πŸ™‚ What do you think?

      Like

        • Elena says:

          I haven’t either, but I have read things about her, and she seems a very interesting, complex and artistic woman. If you are interested in a ficitonalized biography of hers, I can’t recommend you ‘Z’ by Therese Anne Fowler enough. I reviewed it a few summers ago too πŸ˜‰

          Like

        • crimeworm says:

          I’ve got Z – another one I’ve got to get to! Hmm, if you think it’s that good, I’ll have to get reading it. I also want Stewart O’Nan’s West Of Sunset, about Fitzgerald’s time in Hollywood. I should re-read Tender Is The Night; I read it for A-level English Lit many years ago, and loved Dick and Nicole’s world.

          Like

  3. crimeworm says:

    Sorry to hear January hasn’t been good to you (sod April – it’s the cruellest month!) You’ve got some interesting reviews coming up; I’ll look out for them. I STILL haven’t read The Husband’s Secret, oddly enough – maybe your review will see me finally get to it. And I hope some new books arrive soon.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thank you, Linda! The Husband’s Secret is almost as good as Little Lies, but I really think Moriarty felt much more confident writing Little Lies. It reads differently. I hope you like my review πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. susanosborne55 says:

    I glad that things are better for you than they were, Elena. Long may they remain so. Thanks so much for alerting me to the Beth Gutcheon. I loved Gossip and have been hoping for something else from her since I read it last summer. Still Missing’s now on my list.

    Like

  5. Lianne @ eclectictales.com says:

    Sorry to hear that your January was pretty =S, Elena. Hoping February is a lot better and filled with excellent reading πŸ˜€

    I’ve ben seeing Unbecoming quite a bit on GoodReads and my Twitter feed recently, I promptly added it and will keep an eye out for it, hehehe πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. JacquiWine says:

    Sorry to hear that you’ve had a difficult few weeks; there are times when everything seems to go wrong all at once. I hope February turns out to be a better month for you.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thanks, Jaqui. You’re completely right. It was just one of those times when little things go bad at the same time. I wish you a great February as well πŸ˜€

      Like

    • Elena says:

      Shannon, I think you’ll like it, because the ‘thriller’ part that I mention simply means that when you start reading you know nothing about Grace, and she slowly unveils why she is where she is. And yes, here’s to a happier year!

      Like

  7. Amee says:

    I’m glad to hear everything is going better this month. I read The Husband’s Secret last month and it was my first Moriarty as well. I am currently reading 10% Happier by Dan Harris and What Alice Forgot by Moriarty is up next. I also plan on reading another by Gillin Flynn since she was born this month and I am doing a birthday challenge.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thank you, Amee. I haven’t read What Alice Forgot, so please let me know if you like it. As for another Gillian Flynn, I should check her previous works, because I’m passionately in love with Gone Girl.

      Like

  8. Alice says:

    I think January has been universally a rather gloomy month, I’m sorry to hear you’ve not been feeling good either – but I’m glad it’s looking better.

    I’m reading The English Patient, it’s good, but I can’t seem to sit down to concentrate on it.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Yes, for what I’ve read, January has been a really bad month for people.

      I have never read The English Patient. And don’t worry about concentrating, I can’t either. Maybe it’s because of the anxiety from January? Anyway, I always go through a reading slump in January/February. Hopefully things will pick up soon x

      Like

      • Alice says:

        Yeah, once it’s warmer and the weather is sunnier it should pick up. I guess the best thing to do – as you are – is to embrace the slump and let it ride out.

        I think you’re right about the anxiety affecting my desire to read.

        Like

Tell us what you think?

