The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney

I started reading The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney in the worst time possible. I was going through a lot and, now that things have improved and I am back to writing and reading, I do not remember most of the book.

The Liar's Chair by Rebecca Whitney - Review

Rachel Teller, the main character, leads a perfect life in England with her handsome husband, in a huge, luxurious house. However, this is all a lie because Rachel is being psychologically and physically abused by her husband almost on a daily basis. Whitney’s narration is so powerful that I found my own moods reflecting Rachel’s. Rachel and I shared lack of sleep and appetite, and the need to pull a brave face some days, because life has to go on.

I really think that because the narration made time feel as slow and as dense as some difficult times do, that I cannot remember most of The Liar’s Chair. However, when a text is so powerful, it does deserve another chance.

10 thoughts on “The Liar’s Chair by Rebecca Whitney

  1. crimeworm says:

    I’m about to read this, but I just want to say how sorry I am you’ve been having such a rubbish time recently. I did notice you hadn’t been reviewing much, but I thought studying and stuff were taking precedence. Glad you’re starting to feel better – sending lots of virtual hugs down the blogosphere! xxxc

    Like

  2. orangepekoereviews says:

    My review of The Liar’s Chair is still to come although I haven’t actually finished it… I suspect it will forever remain half finished. There’s nothing wrong with it and I should enjoy it. You’ve summed it up correctly – densely written with little action. That’s why you don’t remember much of the plot!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Hi, Orangepekoreviews! I think you’re probably right. I read the book, it was good, but not too good, and a month after reading it I feel nothing towards it. It’s as if it didn’t happen!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Keishon says:

    As Linda said, I’m glad you’re back! Sorry things haven’t been ideal. The beginning of 2015 has been hectic for a lot of us. Take care, Elena.

    Like

Tell us what you think?

