Happy Holidays!

Dear all,

2015 is slowly coming to an end, and I would like to take some time to say thank you to everyone who has supported Books & Reviews all through this past year, with its ups and downs. Last May some people approached me at CrimeFest15 to ask me if the blog was still going on. I never had second thoughts on this, and out of my mouth always came a straight ‘Yes! Of course!’. However, I am aware that I have read less than I intended, and I have reviewed even less. As I am writing this, I still have two reviews to write and a lot of your blog posts to read. Bear with me, I’ll get there.

And all this has an explanation. One of the beauties of life is that unexpected things happen and you have to deal with them. They won’t wait for you to be ready, nor should you sit patiently waiting for things to happen. In my case, in 2015 I broke a 8-year relationship and I took a lot of time off to figure things out. This meant much travelling, and much time out with a bunch of lovely people, especially women, who took great care of me. And, obviously, less time for reading. But it’s OK. This is how life is supposed to be, and I have enjoyed the ride like I thought I never thought I would.

And now is when I go all cheesey: To my Mum, Dad, Brother and Puppy, I could not have done this without you. To María S, Laura, Sandra, Ana and Karixia, I owe you the world. To everyone in the UK and the US who made it possible for me to change places and come out of my arrested development  were it online – Leah and Naomi – and/or in real life – especially Mrs. Peabody -, thank you, thank you, thank you. For M I have only two words, and they are my Dad’s: ‘about time!’.

And, finally, to everyone who is still subscribed to Books & Reviews, I can only say thank you, and the show will go on. I can’t think of my life without books, and I can’t think of reading without writing and sharing it.

Happy-Holidays.jpg

21 thoughts on “Happy Holidays!

  1. María S. says:

    Thanks to you, Elena, for reading, writing, blogging and enjoying life – and sharing it all with us!
    Merry Xmas and a great 2016!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Dear Ann, it’s wonderful to have you back. Thank you for taking the time to read and write. It means a lot. I hope 2016 is wonderful for you, and I hope it brings us a new book by yours only.

      Like

    • Elena says:

      Thank you, MarinaSofia. I hope 2016 is a great year for you as well, you deserve it. Also, you should know that your crime fiction posts helped me a lot to focus on reading once again x

      Like

    • Elena says:

      Thank you, Amanda. Merry – belated – Christmas to you too, and Happy New Year! I’ve thought a lot about you while I was off the blog. I remember a few years ago, when you started a new job and you just couldn’t blog. And it was OK. I remember you staying positive through everything, and it’s helped me.

      Like

    • Elena says:

      THANK YOU, Sadie! You are the reason why I started blogging years ago and look at all this now! Happy New Year to you and your wonderful family. You have one wise little sister that helped me A LOT through everything this year xx

      Like

Tell us what you think?

