It’s Monday! What are you reading? 

A 5* review is coming up soon at Books & Reviews, but meanwhile I wanted to share what I’m reading, because this time it’s not crime fiction or even contemporary fiction written by a woman – I am fine, don’t worry.

In the spirit of #ReadDiverse I took a look at my TBR pile and realised that I hadn’t read any sci-fi in a while. Not that I am too much of a fan, but it is a genre that I closely associate with crime fiction, since both belong to popular literature and are discredited as ‘bad/cheap’. So, here I am, reading Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? (1968) by Philip K. Dick, the landmark that inspired Blade Runner (1982), yet another classic that I haven’t read – yet. Yesterday I managed to read almost a hundred pages, it is that good. I love the story and it reminds me of classic crime fiction.

 

18 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading? 

  1. amanda says:

    I keep thinking of reading this (I’m pretty sure it’s even on one or more of my project lists!), since I’ve seen the film, and am interested in how they compare. Can’t wait to hear what you think.

    Like

      • amanda says:

        If I weren’t already in the middle of so many books I don’t have time to finish! I’m mixed on the film. The first time I saw it (ages ago), I liked it well enough, but when I watched it again a few months back, there were one or two things that bothered me about it. Since I haven’t read the book, I don’t know if they were in it or added for the movie. (Also, having seen both the director’s cut and the original theatrical cut, I think the director’s cut is better.)

        Liked by 1 person

    • Elena says:

      Thanks, Susan! Well, it could be, in a very distant future, although not in the future the novel imagine, which is the early 1990’s. I was telling someone yesterday that I do remember the early 90’s, even though I was just a toddler. I remember the cartoons, and the rise of PCs, and it is quite strange to compare that to the future Dick imagined.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cleopatralovesbooks says:

    Well done you for diversifying in your reading – I don’t read sci-fi at all, not because it’s ‘bad/cheap’ but because I harbour visions of aliens and the like, even though I know it isn’t all like that !

    Like

  3. Leonela @ MyClassicsOnTheShelf says:

    Philip K. Dick is still a debt of mine when it comes to old-school sci-fi. Looking forward to reading your final review on this one.
    Also, I just found your blog and it’s amazing. You just gained a new follower for sure 🙂

    Like

Tell us what you think?

