January Books

Hi, there!

January has been a great month for books, mainly because Christmas in Spain last until the 6th of January and it was my birthday on the 27th. But I also got some very interesting review copies from publishers, so thank you!

Gifted

The Lake House by Kate Morton

I asked the Three Wise Men for Kate Morton’s latest work knowing that I would love it, but it was even better than I expected. The Lake House (2015) is Morton’s best work til now, and the edition is to die for. Highly recommended for book lovers in general.

Kate Morton The Lake House

Gloria Steinem’s WORKS

The boyfriend bought me Gloria Steinem’s biography My Life on the Road (2015) – as recommended by the one and only Margaret Atwood – for Christmas and a new 1985 edition of her iconic work Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions for my birthday.  I haven’t read anything by Steinem, so I am very excited to get to know both her as a feminist role model and an activist.

Gloria

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

My lovely baby brother – who is actually almost 22 but never mind – told me I could ask him for whatever I wanted for my birthday. After thinking of all the different shades of pink lipstick I could get I realised that there was only one thing I wanted: another book by Gone Girl’s author Gillian Flynn. I chose Dark Places (2009) as I heard the film adaptation starring Charlize Theron is a really good one and, since I knew I would end up watching it sooner rather than later, I would rather read the book first.

Flynn's Darkest Places

 

Borrowed from the Library

Bodies That Matter (1993) by Judith Butler and Historia de la sexualidad I (History of Sexuality Vol I, originally published in 1976, my edition is the 2006 Spanish translation by Ulises Guiñazú) by Michel Foucault are key reading for my thesis. I thought of buying them second-hand as they are both landmarks in postmodern theory, but I also love using libraries, and I don’t think I make the most of the access I have to quite a wide range of books. Also, if we do not use them, libraries will get no funding, no support and we all know what is happening in the UK right now. So, I borrowed both copies from my school library for a month. I have already read History of Sexuality and it is really, really good.

Library Books

For Review

I finally got a very advanced review copy of Sarah Hilary’s Marnie Rome #3 book Tastes Like Fear, which I can’t wait to read. I am a huge fan of the series, and if you haven’t read the two previous installments in the series I highly recommend you do before book 3 comes out on the 7th April, 2016.

The Pool’s founder Sam Baker got her crime novel The Woman Who Ran published and everyone says it’s one of the books of the year. I started it last night and I couldn’t be happier today is Sunday because it’s one good page-turner. Published on the 28th of January.

I was offered a review copy of Benjamin Black’s Even the Dead by Penguin Random House and I couldn’t refuse. I have had a love affair with Ireland ever since I can remember and Black’s hardboiled Quirke are the perfect way to get lost in mid-century Dublin. Also, he is a pathologist. need I say more? Published on the 28th May, 2015.

I discovered Where Love Begins by Judith Hermann (translated by Margaret Bettauer Dembo) at Savidge Reads and I immediately knew it was the kind of thriller/character study I needed to read. Also, it is a translated book, which would add some diversity to my TBR pile. Just perfect. Out in April 2016.

Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins was everywhere on Twitter last week and I couldn’t help myself. All I know it is a dystopian story set in California and this is Watkins’ second book, and first novel. Published on the 29th September 2015.

Books for review (January)

These are the new additions to my ever-growing TBR pile. Did you add anything to yours? Let us know in the comments below!

14 thoughts on “January Books

  1. Lianne @ eclectictales.com says:

    Glad you enjoyed The Lake House! I hope to read it soon-ish (I even have it sitting on my night table right now) 🙂

    The books you have for review all sound very interesting! Looking forward to reading your thoughts on them 🙂

    Have a wonderful February, Elena! 🙂

    Like

  2. vicky blake says:

    You’re in for a treat with Outrageous Acts and Everyday Rebellions. It’s very, very funny in parts. I’m currently reading and very much enjoying Adam Sisman’s biography of John le Carre. It’s very long but gripping especially the details about his father who was a con man.

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Now I’m even more excited to read Outrageous Acts, Vicky! I’ve heard it may be a bit outdated, but it’s historically relevant.

      How are you liking John leCarré’s bio? The Constant Gardener played a key role in my life some years ago.

      Like

  3. MarinaSofia says:

    Quite a ‘productive’ month, then! I’ve just started Gold Fame Citrus and am somewhat ambivalent, as post-apocalypse novels are not really my cup of tea – or, in this case, bottle of water. But I’ll persevere…

    Like

    • Elena says:

      I think I want to like post-apocalypse novels, but the more I read, the more I get the feeling they all look the same to me. Let me know if you finally give up, please (between you and me 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Soudha Parsan says:

    I love the cover of Gold Fame Citrus. I’d love to know what you think of it when you get around to reading it because I’ve also been thinking about picking it up. I hope you had a great birthday ^^

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Never judge a book by its cover, but this one is GORGEOUS. Keep an eye on the blog for the review, I expect to review it soon.

      Yes, thank you. I had a wonderful birthday surrounded by my beloved ones. I couldn’t have asked for more, really.

      Like

Tell us what you think?

