Quick Personal Update: Summer is Here!

For the last couple of weeks I have been trying to post a review per week and visit your blogs as frequently as I could. But it somehow felt cold and distant, because I usually share more than just reviews here. This week I also have a book to review, don’t worry,  but it’s June already and I have realised I had not posted a Personal Update since February. Isn’t it about time?

The first thing I want to tell you is that I finished watching the first episode of Marcella last night and I am in love. I had heard wonderful things about both the TV show as a crime show, and Marcella as a female character. I even read this piece on The Pool about Marcella’s parka, which I desperately need right now even though it is summer and I would probably melt. Also, can we talk long hours about her fringe? It’s just perfect.

Marcella

I have been reading and writing lots for my PhD thesis, submitting papers, articles and proposals. So much so, that I have fallen into a writing routine that makes me feel productive and happy. The only trouble here is the 9 hours of sleep I need every night in order to remain nice and not a monster, and my incapability to get out of bed unless I have a train to catch because there is only one each hour and I can’t afford to lose it. Actually, losing that train could cost me a morning’s work. Staying in bed half an hour more? Is it really going to change much, isn’t it? (Yes, it is… I am learning it the hard way).

Puppy

Look out! It’s sunny and warm and everyone is passing their final exams – good luck to everyone taking them – and I am still working from morning til evening. I read and write every day, but I have been out of a job since December, so I am also trying to find any kind of job related to editing or writing. No such luck for the moment, I’m afraid. However, I have had some positive feedback on my CV, which is always a nice thing to hear.

A lot of new books have arrived, and I have not told you anything about them, but there is a reason. There is always a reason. Meanwhile, I am reading After You Die by Eva Dolan, the third installment in the Zigic and Ferrera series, and it is even than you could imagine. Dolan is mastering the art of writing diverse, complex and socially responsible crime fiction. No wonder her last novel Tell No Tales is shortlisted for the Theakstones Novel of the Year Award. Congrats, Eva!

Tell No Tales

By the end of June I will back in the UK and I cannot wait to reunite with my friends and colleagues. Also, let’s be honest, I can’t wait to spend a few hours in Waterstones. Are there any novels that I should be buying on the spot?

I will be joining Cathy Brown’s #20BooksofSummer this week. Cathy is challenging us to read 10, 15 or 20 books this summer. You can read more about the event here. I am signing up for 10 books, as I don’t usually count what I read for my PhD as ‘books read’.

10booksfinal

So, that’s everything for now. I hope it’s not 4 months until I post a personal update again because I want to keep the blog as updated with my reading and writing life as it is possible. Happy reading x

 

21 thoughts on “Quick Personal Update: Summer is Here!

  1. MarinaSofia says:

    How lovely to have a personal update from you! Although, hmmm, we don’t quite see eye to eye on Marcella. I was really looking forward to it in principle: like the actress, like the writer (from the series The Bridge), liked the storyline… but it just didn’t hang together plausibly for me. And there were a lot of very unlikely scenarios (police procedure etc.) creeping in, plot holes etc. Shame, really.
    Enjoy your trip to London and the bookshops and welcome on board for the 20 books of summer! I’m already starting to rethink my original choices – agggh!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      How lovely of you to say that, MarinaSofia! To be sincere I just saw the first episode, and I liked it. However, I have to admit that I see crime TV shows as pure entertainment. I am one of those crazy CSI fans! (I know it’s terrible, I know it is very American and very consumer-oriented, but I still enjoy it).

      Like

  2. jessicabookworm says:

    I wish you all the best in your job search – I am on the hunt for a new job too. I am also taking part in Cathy’s 20 Books of Summer challenge at the 10 level like you. Good luck and happy reading 🙂

    Like

        • Elena says:

          That’s amazing! I really admire your job. I like teaching/lecturing too, but I find the ages between 14 and 17 a bit troublesome. With my BA that’s the only age group I could teach though…

          Like

  3. Cathy746books says:

    Nice to hear how things are going Elena and thanks for joining in with #20booksofsummer. I hope you find a job you love soon, I’ve just got a new job and am very excited but will post details next week! X

    Like

Tell us what you think?

