10 Books of Summer Re-Cap

Now that summer is mostly officially over it is time to check how many of the 10 books I listed for my 10 Books of Summer Project I read (spoiler alert: not many!). You can check my original list here.

10booksfinal

And the answer is 4. This is why I don’t usually join challenges: even though I love the idea of reading from a list, when it’s time to pick up my next book I usually go by intuition. I feel the need to read this or that and no other book will do. However, I have to admit that stickingΒ  to Cathy’s project made me read books and authors I knew I had to read but I kept putting back on my list or pile. In case you’re interested, here are the links to my reviews:

After You Die by Eva Dolan: high-quality and diverse crime fiction.

Wilde Lake by Laura Lippman: My first Lippman! A complex novel, half legal thriller, half character study, and very American – in a good way.

My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem: an auto-biography on travelling and becoming a woman.

The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton: This project was definitely an opportunity to read great authors for the first time. My first Wharton, but absolutely not my last.

I would like to thank Cathy Brown at 746 Books the opportunity to join and all the hard-work behind the scenes. I am very happy with my reading, even though it is not remotely close to what I expected to read! Can’t wait to join next year.

If you also joined the 20 Books of Summer project, feel free to leave a link below. We’d all love to see what you read πŸ™‚

 

 

16 thoughts on “10 Books of Summer Re-Cap

  1. bookbii says:

    The great thing about reading challenges is how they can open us up to a more diverse range of literature than we would normally read; the terrible thing about reading challenges is how they can lock us down in a pattern of enforced reading which feels constraining. I felt similarly when trying to fulfil my TBR20 challenge and I’m not sure I’d repeat it though I’ve managed to cut my book buying considerably just by utilising the library more. Managing 4 is still an achievement, and I’m sure you’ve learned from the challenge even if it’s only that challenges don’t suit you!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thank you, BOOKBII. I completely agree with everything you say. I don’t usually join challenges as I think I read a lot, but after 5 years of an English and American literature degree I’ve had enough of reading under pressure or by a deadline. I am also trying to use the library more, and I love it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Elena says:

      Oh you know me. I get such a thrill of making lists, yet I have realised that I feel compelled to stick to them and do whatever I decided to wrote, in whatever state of mind I was when I created the aforementioned list. Hence, I have been more careful with lists of lately.

      You RULE: summer does not end until the 21st, so you still have a week πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think?

