Halloween Reading

Hi, everyone!

As you know Halloween is just around the corner and although I had planned on joining the R.I.P Reading Challenge, life had other things in mind for me. I finally got a new computer, it’s purple and I’m in love with it. I am also quite pleased Windows 10 has nothing to do with my last experience with Windows 8, and it’s Apple-proof, meaning that if you’ ve been an Apple hardcore fan for the last 7 years like I was, you’re safe! Windows 10 is easy peasy.

But, but! Going back to reading. This does not mean I will not be doing any scary readings this year. I am a sacredy cat and I would rather stay away from horror movies thankyouverymuch. However, I can do some dark reading, or rather, some dark crime fiction reading. So, here are my two choices for 2016. I do not think I will finish them as I will be working this weekend, but I want to have something adequate to read in Halloween.

fullsizerender

  • The Ice Lands by Steinar Bragi is the story of 4 friends who get lost in the Northern part of Iceland. I have already started this one and Bragi masterfully suggests there is something off either between the friends or the envioronment, but I can’t guess what it is.
  • Rawblood by Catriona Ward reminded me so much of Crimson Peak and Poe’s ‘The Fall of the House of Usher’ but from a feminine point of view, that I had to give it a try.

Both are review copies, so thank you to Penguin and Orion for them.

And you? Have you joined R.I.P? What are you reading? And, if not, do you have any scary reading/writing plans for Halloween? Let me know in the comments below.

 

2 thoughts on “Halloween Reading

  1. FictionFan says:

    The Ice Lands sounds great – there’s something about all that snow and cold that really adds to a nice horror atmosphere! I’ve just read Thin Air by Michelle Paver as my scary read – a ghost story set up in the Himalayas – more snow and ice!

    Like

  2. jessicabookworm says:

    I am taking part in the R.I.P reading event – my progress was slow to begin with but I am now reading supernatural, crime novel Blood on the Bayou by D J Donaldson which is my 5th book for the event. I hope you enjoy your new, scary books 😀

    Like

Tell us what you think?

