Women and the Forensic Thriller

If last week I shared the books that made me a blogger, this week I’m very happy to bring you a little summary of my research. I cannot think of a better way to celebrate International Women’s Day than writing about the women writers and the female characters that inspire me and keep me sane. Thanks to Boring Women for this opportunity. Enjoy! x

womenareboring

By: Elena Avanzas Álvarez

Every time I tell someone I am pursuing a PhD in the Humanities, it is clear to me that they do not think I am in my right mind. Then I tell them that I am doing this with no fixed income or scholarship to support it, and I can see fear in their faces. But my favourite reaction comes when I tell them I am writing a thesis about forensic crime fiction: ‘Why do you write your thesis about trash/airport/commercial literature?’ And every time I tell them that there is more to crime fiction than CSI. There is even more to CSI!!! And here is why:

Crime fiction has been – along with romance – one of the most popular literary subgenres since the 19th century. People are addicted to crime, especially if it comes from a book, as it appears to…

View original post 1,201 more words

Tell us what you think?

