Captivating Criminality Conference 2017

This year I helped organise the Captivating Criminality 4 conference at Bath Spa University (even though my tasks were little!) and I had the honour of inviting fellow blogger and reader MarinaSofia over. These are her thoughts about it:

findingtimetowrite

Thanks to fellow blogger and online friend Elena (whom some of you may know as @ms_adler on Twitter), I heard about the Captivating Criminality Network at Bath Spa University (in collaboration with Gdansk University in Poland. When I heard about the 2017 conference taking place on 29th June to 1st July, I was determined to attend for at least half a day. So I drove to the chi-chi Wiltshire village of Corsham on Saturday 1st July and entered the dreamy grounds of Corsham Court, where the conference was taking place. At first, I was expecting Darcy to emerge from the local pond…

Then I was intrigued by the plaintive calls from the true masters of the gardens…

But once I found my way inside The Barn, I attended some fantastic talks. I won’t give an in-depth account, but it is so refreshing to see academia engaging seriously (but not pretentiously)…

View original post 521 more words

10 thoughts on “Captivating Criminality Conference 2017

  1. inessotrondio says:

    I’m sure it was a fascinating event, Elena! 😊 Welcome back home again!

    P.S.: I loved the Baztán trilogy (although I must say the second installment is my favourite). 😊

    Like

    • Elena says:

      Thank you, Inés. I’m very happy to be back, and to read that you loved the Baztán trilogy. The second book is my favourite also. I loved the tension between the main character and that handsome man that shall remain unnamed in lieu of spoilers 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • inessotrondio says:

        Of course! 😉 I liked the other two installments as well, but I must confess that I expected the last one to be bit different regarding the events about Amaia’s mother. Anyway, I would like to read more books about Inspector Salazar. Dolores Redondo has said she would write more installments about this character -although the Baztán trilogy is closed for sure-, so it’s a matter of time now!!

        And, as a personal recomendation, I encourage you to read “Alba Cromm”. It’s an excelent book written by Vicente Luis Mora, whose main character is a police officer who deals with paedophilia as part of her daily job. The novel also uses resources from new technologies and media in order to present and organize the story. Seriously, Ii cannot recommend it enough (I know your main focus is English and American literature, but I think you may like this one too). 🙂 xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. JacquiWine says:

    I read Marina Sofia’s summary of this with great interest. It sounded like a fascinating event, packed full of really interesting sessions. Bravo for helping to organise it! 🙂

    Like

  3. inessotrondio says:

    Elena, I know you’re a great fan of “Gone Girl” :). I recently discovered this video, which explains why the script of the movie works so well. I’ll forward you the link here. Enjoy! 🙂

    Like

Tell us what you think?

